COBRA 139 XLR FINAL KEEPS BLOWING WHEN HOOKED TO ANY AMP

For discussions on CB Radio Repair and Troubleshooting, do not post modification requests here, use the Modifications forum !
Old School

COBRA 139 XLR FINAL KEEPS BLOWING WHEN HOOKED TO ANY AMP

Post by Old School »

Radio Make and Model: COBRA 139 XLR
PCB Number:
PLL Number: UPD858
Test gear available: YOU NAME IT, I GOT IT.
Symptoms: Hi everybody! Here's one that has me scratching my head, (and I've been working on these since 1977!) I have a Cobra 139 XLR that is working great in every way, until it is hooked up to an external amp. Just the radio to an antenna or load is running 4-8 watts (adjustable) dead key AM, and 10-30 watts (adjustable) SSB. The radio is not set up for the absolute bleeding edge for power output by any means, it is capable of 30watts SSB, but is not currently set for that type of power output. When I hook it up to an old Penetrater HB-1000, it seems to work on AM. Power outputs seem normal. When I switch to SSB, immediately, the final output transistor tanks! I tested all bias voltages on the final and driver and they are correct. I turned the SSB varicap down to just under 10 watts to drive the amp, and it blew another final on the radio. (I'm starting to run out of finals!) I tried a different "high drive" amp, thinking that even 10 watts was too much for the old Penetrater (which I know it isn't, but gotta try). Same thing. Both amps work fine with another radio, even when I drive them upwards of 20 watts PEP! The only thing different about the final in this radio, is that I no longer have any 2SC1969 finals laying around. I had to switch to using the CB-20w replacement. I believe that is a direct, pin for pin, drop in replacement. I did notice before using the CB-20w, that when I check it with a transistor checker, it is showing as a PNP rather than a NPN like the 2SC1969, but like I said, when it is dropped into the radio alone, it works even better than the 2SC1969 did for out