Cobra 29 NW LTD Classic Mods? (New guy)

Discussions on CB Radio Modifications
tdkask
First Name: David

Cobra 29 NW LTD Classic Mods? (New guy)

Post by tdkask »

I'm relatively new to CBs and though I know electronics from years as an avionics tech in the Navy, I don't know jack about this circuit and am not trying to reinvent what's already been done. Digging through here and other sites I've seen plenty or mods for modulation, final amp, RX pre-amp, etc... not including things like echo and roger beep, etc.

I'm the kind of guy who can't leave anything alone... I have to tinker and modify and improve... so want to dive into this radio myself instead of taking it somewhere. If there was a more local shop I'd go to him for the parts and advice and do it myself with his suggestions, but where I live is a ways away (Norfolk, VA), so I find myself here on the web.

Basically, Id like the input and advice as to what are the most effective mods for the time/money?

Is a RFX 75 really as good as advertised, or are the other Mosfet mods going to be plenty for the price? Is the 520 or the 2030 going to do better? Or should I stick with the 1969, even? Is the 2sc2312 same/better?

Does the 2SC2999 RX upgrade (less noise?) work on a 29? Is it worth the time/trouble?

Also, for the modulation mod, I saw mention of one with a NTE331 or similar with variable pot, diodes, etc... is this worth it, or would I be as good with simply the normal cap/resistor? For variable, what should be the max/min levels? Can this cause problems after a final amp mod? What should I avoid?

What about the RX boost of PLL (switched, with variable resistance of 100K-500K between pin PLL P14 and R11?)

I see a lot of disagreement about clipping limiting diode D-11... Where would his help/hurt?