IC730 11metres mod

This is an area for you to post requests for any radio parts, equipment or test gear that you are looking for.
Post Reply
Dazz
Dead Key
Dead Key
Posts: 14
Joined: Tuesday 13th Jun 2006, 17:31
Location: MOUNT GAMBIER SOUTH AUSTRALIA

IC730 11metres mod

Post by Dazz » Tuesday 13th Jun 2006, 17:46

I have recently aquired an icom ic730 and am finding it very difficult to obtain information on how to get it to cover 11m.
It is, as you may or not be aware, not a general coverage receive rig and the mod is not as simple as cutting a wire to "open up" the transmit capability and as I do not have a service manual or schematic, I have no idea where to start.
Any help on this subject would be a blessing.
Cheers, Daz.

Dazz
Dead Key
Dead Key
Posts: 14
Joined: Tuesday 13th Jun 2006, 17:31
Location: MOUNT GAMBIER SOUTH AUSTRALIA

Post by Dazz » Monday 19th Jun 2006, 13:59

Doesnt Anybody know how to do this?
I cant find anything anywhere else on the net.
Come on I know lots of people view this site and one of ya's must know.
any form of help would be great!!!
Please????

Anonymous

Here is your solution....IC-730

Post by Anonymous » Wednesday 19th Jul 2006, 1:36

If it is for an ICOM IC-730 here is the procedure for EXPANDED RF.


1 Remove power and antenna
2 Remove screws and open case
3 Locate the RF board
4 CUT GREEN WIRE (Labeled 'D' )
5 CUT RESISTOR R-48
6 RESET THE MICROPROCESSOR
7 Reassemble the radio

This came from a tech book I have and I typed it word for word so that should do it for you,good luck and I can't promise anything as to the outcome.
Signed,
RFMSTR667

Dazz
Dead Key
Dead Key
Posts: 14
Joined: Tuesday 13th Jun 2006, 17:31
Location: MOUNT GAMBIER SOUTH AUSTRALIA

thankyou.

Post by Dazz » Tuesday 25th Jul 2006, 16:09

Your information on this topic is much appreciated as it has stopped a person possibly ripping me off with the radio.
i only have three final questions if u can help; is R48 on the rf board, exactly where is the micro processor and how do you reset it?
I am sorry to ask so much but i dont have a service manual for the rig.
cheers Daz In Auz.

rmyers2051
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tuesday 25th Dec 2007, 14:25
Location: Paris Ky

Post by rmyers2051 » Saturday 8th Mar 2008, 14:39

You don't need a service manual to learn to reset. It will be in the owners manual, something along the lines of hold in function button while powering up, or some other technique equally as silly sounding.

hamguy2
Light User
Light User
Posts: 101
Joined: Monday 20th Oct 2008, 22:16
Location: sydney australia
Contact:

Post by hamguy2 » Tuesday 4th Nov 2008, 22:48

you cant put 11 metres in a 730 without using crystals you have to remove part of the 10metre band to do so or use aux mode ,reson being these are a crysal controlled receiver they dont have any general coverage receiver in them ,r48 etc is for abit more output i should know i owned 1 ,thanks david nsw australia

bigpimp347
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sunday 30th Jan 2011, 5:19
First Name: Mark
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: IC730 11metres mod

Post by bigpimp347 » Sunday 13th Oct 2013, 4:46

http://www.hardtimez99.com/SECRETCB29/b ... UME_29.pdf

a bit late i know, but better late than never..!!
I want to die asleep like my granddad did.
Unlike his passengers, Screaming and shouting..!

Post Reply

Return to “Wanted !”