Cobra 138XLR Talkback Problem

Discussions on CB Radio Modifications
spanky

Cobra 138XLR Talkback Problem

Post by spanky »

I came across an old radio today, (Cobra 138XLR), and I want to install talkback in it. I tried the usual 64ohm resistor across the PA/EX SPK and didn't get any results. Does anyone out there have any ideas? :roll:
spanky

Post by spanky »

I should have also included that I'm not interested in an on/off switch or variable volume in the talkback. Any help is greatly appreciated.
timrim
Heavy User
Heavy User

Post by timrim »

That radio has a relay, so you will need to place a cap in series with a resistor across 2 of the relay contacts. I am not at work so right now I am unable to tell you exactly which ones, I will look it up later for you.
spanky

Thanks timrim

Post by spanky »

I sure would appreciate that buddy. I must admit, I'm a novice at this kind of thing and even though I realize it's not a difficult thing to do, I may need some details on how and where to make my connections. Thanks
spanky

Post by spanky »

Well Timrim, I guess the talkback is the least of my problems at this point. I had the radio on my bench and I peaked it out only to have it completely stop transmitting. The relay is still engaging, but no forward power or modulation is coming from the radio at all. I guess I need to take this thing to someone who actually knows what he's doing and give this novice stuff up.
spanky

Post by spanky »

I should note that all I did to the radio was tune VR8 from a six watt dead key up to an eight watt dead key and then.........poof. I have peaked and tuned many Cobra radios, added talkback, echos and such, but I have never tried to adjust a radio like this, I mean an older model with a relay in it, so I'm really not sure of where I went wrong. Sorry for all of the post on the matter.
timrim
Heavy User
Heavy User

Post by timrim »